WHAT I LIKED BEST IN LONDON . . .

Skinny Cargos – The major bottoms story was all about slim and super skinny, worn like leggings or tucked into a boot. There were many more non-denim slim jeans which looked great, but the one I liked the best was the skinny cargo non-denim jean.

London Retail in Fall of 2010: Skinny Cargo London Retail in Fall of 2010: Skinny Cargo

BIG BLANKET PONCHOS – You must know by now that I am a big fan of the large ample oversize look, and love the feel of a warm cozy swathe of knit or woven fabric draped over you as a final layering piece. These easy ponchos highlighted the importance of that last layering piece being a key item and provided the trend message of loose, easy, blanket-y.

London Retail in Fall of 2010: Blanket Ponchos London Retail in Fall of 2010: Blanket Ponchos

Dramatic Fair Isle and Intarsia Patterns – They looked good in many different types of patterns and colorings…..in pullover Shetlands, cardigans, outwerwear, knit dresses. These are 2 large scale dramatic looks in neutral. There were also smaller fair isle patterns often engineered and placed. And, I was delighted to see many colorful and cheerful patterns which I’ll show you in my webinar report!

London Retail in Fall of 2010: Knit SweatersLondon Retail in Fall of 2010: Knit Sweaters

I would love for you to join my next webinar which will show you more ideas and photos from London and Paris. I’ve put together one report on womens apparel and accessories, and another on the Maison et Objet show and Europe retail for home furnishings.
Along the way I also collect glimpses into some great visual merchandising ideas I see on display, signage, store fashion promotions, windows,etc.

Please check my Webinar Section on the home page on this website for more info—dates, times, and cost.

About Fran Yoshioka

I love to motivate and empower my audiences and clients with compelling and actionable information. I am passionate about the need for creativity, good taste and thinking out of the box.
This entry was posted in Fashion Items, Retail Trend Europe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHAT I LIKED BEST IN LONDON . . .

  1. Claire says:

    I love the look of the big warm sweaters, especially the longer ones that can be worn with leggings and boots. I think the key to pulling off the oversize look is balancing it with fitted components like skinny pants or leggings. I saw some just the other day with pockets on the side as well!

Leave a Reply

